Join the Campaign


Dozens of Leaders Across North Carolina Endorse Cal Cunningham for U.S. Senate

Wide-ranging group of 70 local community leaders, grassroots Democrats, current and former elected officials throw their support behind Cal’s U.S. Senate campaign


Raleigh, NC — Following his announcement last week that he is running to serve as North Carolina’s next United States Senator, Cal Cunningham announced endorsements from dozens of North Carolina leaders supporting his campaign. The wide range of 70 supporters includes local community leaders, grassroots Democrats, and current and former elected officials from across the state. Former U.S. Senator Kay Hagan, who previously held this seat, endorsed Cal shortly after he entered the race, and the campaign will continue to roll out additional endorsements.

Cal is an Army veteran who served in Iraq and Afghanistan, business leader, former State Senator, and Vice Chairman of the Governor’s Crime Commission. Cal’s Senate campaign launched with a video highlighting his upbringing and North Carolina roots, his military service, and his commitment to reforming the corrupt political system in Washington that prevents us from solving the big problems facing hardworking North Carolina families.


The following North Carolinians have endorsed Cal for U.S. Senate:

Val Applewhite, Former City Councilwoman (Fayetteville)

Margaret Arbuckle, Former County Commissioner (Guilford County)

Phil Baddour, Former House Majority Leader (Wayne County)

Gerald Baker, Sheriff (Wake County)

Sid Baker, Education Advocate

Dale Baldwin, Mayor (West Jefferson)

Andy Ball, Former Mayor (Boone)

Jonathan Barfield, Jr., Board of Commissioners Chair (New Hanover County)

Yevonne Brannon, Former County Commissioner (Wake County)

George Carr, Business Leader and Chairman of Beacon Management Corp.

John Chen, Chinese-American Economic and Cultural Association Board Member

Loretta Clawson, Mayor Pro Tempore (Boone)

Alan Cloninger, Sheriff (Gaston County)

Leslie Cox, Jr., Former State Representative (Lee County)

David Cox, City Councilman (Raleigh)

Kay Crowder, City Councilwoman (Raleigh)

Lana Dial, Former Commissioner at North Carolina Commission of Indian Affairs

Jill Dinwiddie, Former Executive Director of North Carolina Council for Women

Joan Dressler, Former President of Democratic Women of North Carolina

John Easterling III, Former President of College Democrats of North Carolina

Olma Echeverri, Former President of Democratic Women of Mecklenburg County and Co-Founder of the Hispanic American Democrats of North Carolina

Laura Edwards, Co-Founder of Lillian’s List of North Carolina and Founder of Women AdvaNCe

Angie Elkins, Former President of National Federation of Democratic Women

Susan Evans, County Commissioner (Wake County)

Berni Gaither, Former Forsyth County Democratic Party Chair and Former Lillian’s List of North Carolina Board Member

Gracie Liem Galloway, Former 8th Congressional District and Cabarrus County Party Official

Claire Giffin, Former Lillian’s List of North Carolina Official

Linda Gunter, Former State Senator (Wake County)

Kay Hagan, Former United States Senator for North Carolina

Chip Hagan, Business and Community Leader (Guilford County)

Chris Heagarty, School Board Member and Former State Representative (Wake County)

Jessica Holmes, Board of Commissioners Chair (Wake County)

Brenda Howerton, County Commissioner (Durham County)

Sig Hutchinson, County Commissioner (Wake County)

Jeanette Hyde, Ambassador and Business Leader

Maggie Jeffus, Former State Representative (Guilford County)

Robert Johnson, Mayor (North Wilkesboro)

Billy Kennedy, County Commissioner (Watauga County)

Mark Kleinschmidt, Former Mayor (Chapel Hill)

Duabhav Lee, Community Leader

Howard Lee, Former Mayor (Chapel Hill) and Former State Senator (Orange County)

Cathy Levinson, Guilford County Community Advocate

Da’Quan Love, Former State House Candidate (Duplin County)

Grier Martin, State Representative (Wake County)

Betty Ray McCain, Former Secretary of North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources and Former North Carolina Democratic Party Chair

Floyd McKissick, Jr., State Senator (Durham County)

Stef Mendell, City Councilwoman (Raleigh)

Mac Montgomery, Former Mayor (Kure Beach)

Scott Padgett, Former Mayor (Concord)

Michael Page, Former Board of Commissioners Chair (Durham County)

Miss Mary Ellen Phifer-Kirton, Cabarrus County Community Leader

Erv Portman, Former County Commissioner (Wake County)

Steve Rao, Town Council Member (Morrisville)

Nick Rhodes, Former Board of Education Member (New Hanover County)

Penny Rich, County Commissioner (Orange County)

Nancy Rorie, Former Democratic Party Chair (Union County)

Willie Rowe, Former Major, Sheriff’s Office (Wake County)

Ray Russell, State Representative (Watauga County)

Karen Savage, Former Lillian’s List of North Carolina Board Member

Roger Sharpe, Former State Senator (Burke County)

Lynn Shoemaker, Education Advocate and Former Lillian’s List of North Carolina Board Member

Ella Mae Small, City Councilwoman (Concord)

Randy Stagner, Former City Councilman (Raleigh)

Linda Stephens, Former Judge, Court of Appeals of North Carolina

Russ Stephenson, City Councilman (Raleigh)

Larry Turnbow, County Commissioner (Watauga County)

John Verdejo, DNC Member for North Carolina

John Welch, Board of Commissioners Chair (Watauga County)

John I. Wilson, Former Executive Director, National Education Association

Larry Womble, Former State Representative (Forsyth County) and Civil Rights Leader