Join the Campaign


Cal Cunningham Continues Wave of Key Local and National Endorsements, Showing Early Strength and Growing Momentum

Major groups End Citizens United, League of Conservation Voters Action Fund added their support to Cal’s campaign for Senate this week.

Raleigh, NC – Army veteran and former State Senator Cal Cunningham received a new wave of endorsements from key organizations this week, the latest sign of early strength and momentum in his campaign to serve as North Carolina’s next U.S. Senator. Since Cal launched his campaign in mid-June, he has received endorsements from dozens of North Carolina community and political leaders from across the state, including former U.S. Senator Kay Hagan, as well as a slew of key national organizations advocating for campaign finance reform, environmental protection and climate action, and veterans. 

End Citizens United, a grassroots group focused on reforming our broken campaign finance system and combating the influence of big money in politics endorsed Cal on Tuesday, praising his “career standing up for North Carolinians who are being left behind by the corrupt establishment in Washington.” Cal had previously announced that unlike Senator Thom Tillis, who has relied heavily on corporate special interests to support his campaign, he would not accept corporate PAC money.

The League of Conservation Voters Action Fund, an organization that supports candidates with a proven record of leadership on issues of climate change and environmental protection, announced their support for Cal the following day. Citing Cal’s work as a former state legislator and an environmental business leader, LCV touted Cal’s ability to “protect our economic future — to stand against drilling off our coast and to invest in good-paying clean energy jobs right here in North Carolina.” 

In June, Cal also earned the early endorsement of VoteVets, a national group dedicated to electing veterans and giving them a voice across the country. 

Shortly after announcing his candidacy for Senate, Cal announced a broad and diverse coalition of support from 70 North Carolina leaders across the state.

The following North Carolinians have endorsed Cal for U.S. Senate:

Val Applewhite, Former City Councilwoman (Fayetteville)

Margaret Arbuckle, Former County Commissioner (Guilford County)

Phil Baddour, Former House Majority Leader (Wayne County)

Gerald Baker, Sheriff (Wake County)

Sid Baker, Education Advocate

Dale Baldwin, Mayor (West Jefferson)

Andy Ball, Former Mayor (Boone)

Jonathan Barfield, Jr., Board of Commissioners Chair (New Hanover County)

Yevonne Brannon, Former County Commissioner (Wake County)

George Carr, Business Leader and Chairman of Beacon Management Corp.

John Chen, Chinese-American Economic and Cultural Association Board Member

Loretta Clawson, Mayor Pro Tempore (Boone)

Alan Cloninger, Sheriff (Gaston County)

Leslie Cox, Jr., Former State Representative (Lee County)

David Cox, City Councilman (Raleigh)

Kay Crowder, City Councilwoman (Raleigh)

Lana Dial, Former Commissioner at North Carolina Commission of Indian Affairs

Jill Dinwiddie, Former Executive Director of North Carolina Council for Women

Joan Dressler, Former President of Democratic Women of North Carolina

John Easterling III, Former President of College Democrats of North Carolina

Olma Echeverri, Former President of Democratic Women of Mecklenburg County and Co-Founder of the Hispanic American Democrats of North Carolina

Laura Edwards, Co-Founder of Lillian’s List of North Carolina and Founder of Women AdvaNCe

Angie Elkins, Former President of National Federation of Democratic Women

Susan Evans, County Commissioner (Wake County)

Berni Gaither, Former Forsyth County Democratic Party Chair and Former Lillian’s List of North Carolina Board Member

Gracie Liem Galloway, Former 8th Congressional District and Cabarrus County Party Official

Claire Giffin, Former Lillian’s List of North Carolina Official

Linda Gunter, Former State Senator (Wake County)

Kay Hagan, Former United States Senator for North Carolina

Chip Hagan, Business and Community Leader (Guilford County)

Chris Heagarty, School Board Member and Former State Representative (Wake County)

Jessica Holmes, Board of Commissioners Chair (Wake County)

Brenda Howerton, County Commissioner (Durham County)

Sig Hutchinson, County Commissioner (Wake County)

Jeanette Hyde, Ambassador and Business Leader

Maggie Jeffus, Former State Representative (Guilford County)

Robert Johnson, Mayor (North Wilkesboro)

Billy Kennedy, County Commissioner (Watauga County)

Mark Kleinschmidt, Former Mayor (Chapel Hill)

Duabhav Lee, Community Leader

Howard Lee, Former Mayor (Chapel Hill) and Former State Senator (Orange County)

Cathy Levinson, Guilford County Community Advocate

Da’Quan Love, Former State House Candidate (Duplin County)

Grier Martin, State Representative (Wake County)

Betty Ray McCain, Former Secretary of North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources and Former North Carolina Democratic Party Chair

Floyd McKissick, Jr., State Senator (Durham County)

Stef Mendell, City Councilwoman (Raleigh)

Mac Montgomery, Former Mayor (Kure Beach) 

Scott Padgett, Former Mayor (Concord)

Michael Page, Former Board of Commissioners Chair (Durham County)

Miss Mary Ellen Phifer-Kirton, Cabarrus County Community Leader

Erv Portman, Former County Commissioner (Wake County)

Steve Rao, Town Council Member (Morrisville)

Nick Rhodes, Former Board of Education Member (New Hanover County)

Penny Rich, County Commissioner (Orange County)

Nancy Rorie, Former Democratic Party Chair (Union County)

Willie Rowe, Former Major, Sheriff’s Office (Wake County)

Ray Russell, State Representative (Watauga County)

Karen Savage, Former Lillian’s List of North Carolina Board Member

Roger Sharpe, Former State Senator (Burke County)

Lynn Shoemaker, Education Advocate and Former Lillian’s List of North Carolina Board Member

Ella Mae Small, City Councilwoman (Concord)

Randy Stagner, Former City Councilman (Raleigh)

Linda Stephens, Former Judge, Court of Appeals of North Carolina

Russ Stephenson, City Councilman (Raleigh)

Larry Turnbow, County Commissioner (Watauga County)

John Verdejo, DNC Member for North Carolina

John Welch, Board of Commissioners Chair (Watauga County)

John I. Wilson, Former Executive Director, National Education Association

Larry Womble, Former State Representative (Forsyth County) and Civil Rights Leader